all mimsy were the

b o r o g o v e s

31

alright! 31! damn, that number looks so big and grown up. and i suppose, for all practical purposes, i am all big and grown up. i'm married, and a homeowner; i have a phd and a Real Job With A Commute And Everything; i pay taxes and my credit card bill. that, i feel sure, pretty much counts as grown up.

this last year has been a biggie. while age 30, i got married, finished my phd, and got a Real Job With A Commute And Everything. other things that happened included a pre-wedding vacation in cancun with my sister and my mom, a honeymoon to belize, and a major haircut (from nearly waist length to above the shoulders). my cousin eric went to iraq and came back safe and sound, but has pretty much cut his family out of his life--his mother-in-law is a nutcase and waaaaay overly influential in his marriage and life. my dad retired from his career as a captain for delta airlines.

in between these events of the last year i was busy writing (or avoiding writing) my dissertation. i avoided by taking riding lessons at reinbow's end farm, and by watching a lot of tv. though it will probably be embarrassing to list the shows that we watch, i want my record for posterity, so here they are, in no particular order:

  • boston legal (william shatner is truly awesome in the role of denny crane)
  • smallville (mmmm, love me some tom welling)
  • charmed (til it went off the air)
  • lost (hoo boy, that show is FULL of yummy stars! the men who play sawyer, jack, jin, and sayid (especially sayid) are mm mm good)
  • desperate housewives
  • south park (the scientology show! with t0m cru1se coming out of the closet! priceless!)
  • scrubs
  • the daily show
  • the colbert report
  • monk
  • the 4400 (i have no idea why we watch this show. it is SO BAD.)
  • alias (til it went off the air)
  • formula 1 racing
  • english premiership football-by-which-i-mean-soccer
  • hex
  • doctor who (the new one, with christopher eccelston, now david tennant as the doctor)
  • babylon 5 (yes, the one from the early 90s--we've got it on dvd)
  • las vegas
  • shameless (britsh black comedy)
ok, i think that's all of them. but yikes! that's a lot of tv!

anyway, back to the subject at hand: me and my birthday! after work (eesh, the first time ever i've had to work on my birthday. color me lucky and/or long-time unemployed) mom and dad and sis took me out for sushi (mmmm, sushiiiii) and presents (mmmm, presennnnts) then home for birthday cookie* and ben&jerry's. at home, i found fresh flowers with a card that reads: "happy birthday sweetie, miss you! (p.s. batcat would like some petals if that's ok. love karl + kitties"

*borogoves family tradition is to have a pizza-sized chocolate chip cookie, made by mom, instead of a cake.

presents, for the record: a web cam for when we're living abroad so that we can talk to the fam; new "bionic" riding gloves; the skin care solution; a promise of a mani-pedi + lunch with mom and sis; a gift card and lip balm from sephora; tempur pedic slippers.

<<< | >>>

fresh baked
increasingly stale
the quick & dirty

mail me
sign my guestbook!
leave me a note!
see my profile
diaryland



voyeurs since 8.8.2001

recently written! still tasty! now 50% off--get yours today!

28 March 2007 - due date
16 March 2007 - 14-38
16 March 2007 - 14-38
01 February 2007 - 32 weeks
06 December 2006 - 24 weeks

.rings.rings.rings.rings.rings.

gay? bi? human. - << - ?? - >>
academia - << - ?? - >>
pierced - << - ?? - >>
alice in wonderland - << - ?? - >>
red - << - ?? - >>