all mimsy were the

b o r o g o v e s

clueless prof, coming to a classroom near you

well, this is all kinds of suckage. so remember my $4300 problem? i have a solution. but it's a supercrap solution. how to make up the extra money, so that'd (a) i'd have enough money to live on and (b) the department would pay my tuition and health insurance? teach another class. that's $4300 for being a teaching assistant to one of the department profs, and $4300 for teaching my own damn class.

good thing: it's the class my advisor teaches every spring, so i can use his materials verbatim.

bad thing: not only have i never taught or TA'd this class before, but i've never even *taken* it. hey kids, this is what your tuition dollars are paying for! a teacher who has never even taken the class you're taking!

when my advisor told me that there's just no money in the grant for me, and so i'd have to take this (second) teaching job, he mentioned something about me being done next may/june anyway. i said, without thinking, "not if i have to teach and TA!" is he for real? does he *really* think that i can get *any* work done on my dissertation if i'm teaching 2 classes?

i know that it's my fault that i'm still in grad school. however, it totally doesn't help when i get the short stick TWICE. two semesters that i'm left out in the cold with no funding. thanks a bunch.

no, i'm not bitter at ALL.

<<< | >>>

fresh baked
increasingly stale
the quick & dirty

mail me
sign my guestbook!
leave me a note!
see my profile
diaryland



voyeurs since 8.8.2001

recently written! still tasty! now 50% off--get yours today!

28 March 2007 - due date
16 March 2007 - 14-38
16 March 2007 - 14-38
01 February 2007 - 32 weeks
06 December 2006 - 24 weeks

.rings.rings.rings.rings.rings.

gay? bi? human. - << - ?? - >>
academia - << - ?? - >>
pierced - << - ?? - >>
alice in wonderland - << - ?? - >>
red - << - ?? - >>