all mimsy were the

b o r o g o v e s

hey dyon: how's THIS for an ego search?

hey dyon: how's THIS for an ego search?

dyon, go away. this is none of your goddamn business.


just for kicks, i was looking through my site counter info earlier, looking for bizarre google searches. i found one that pissed. me. off. dyon, aka "that man" (laura's estranged husband), did the following search: Dyon "that man" Laura, and got a hit on my diary. i recognized the ISP/search combination. he looked through most of my diary over several visits.

i discussed this with laura this evening, and wrote dyon the following note:

hi dyon. i happened to be going through the counter on my online diary today, and noticed that you had been to my site a few times. i don't want anyone i know in real life to read that diary, so please don't go there anymore.

got the following note back from him:

I do "ego" searches occaisonally [sic] and unfortunately Dyon is a fairly unique keyword.

I mentioned it to Laura, and she already made me promise that I wouldn't read your diary any more [sic]. So, as long as you refer to me as "that man" :-), I won't even see the text of any of your pages pop up in a search engine.

Still, if you don't want people reading your diary, you ought to be very careful. The Internet is "forever" (see http://www.archive.org/ and http://groups.google.com/ ) and someday your kids may be reading what you wrote! I fully expect A----- and J----- [their kids] to look and see what their parents have contributed to the net. Unfortunately I expect that that will happen long before they're capable of understanding what's there.

Regarding your diary: you are so young...

okay, he SOOOO didn't get to my page through an ego search: Dyon "that man" Laura is not what one types in for an ego search. it is what one types in when they want to see what dirt has been posted about them online by their estranged wife and her friends. also, one does not go back to that page several times, looking at most of the entries, if one is just looking to see who is writing about one. finally, did i mention that one of his visits occurred on 11 september, at 4:41pm EDT (yes, less than 8 hours after the world trade center was attacked)? no? i didn't? ah. well. what the FUCK was he doing looking at MY diary when the country was being attacked, and thousands of people were dying? um, hello? taste? not so much, apparently. further, laura says that the conversation he references, when laura "made him promise" not to read my diary, took place 3-4 weeks ago. in other words, BEFORE the most recent time that he read my diary, on the 11th. so he definitely returned to my diary after he promised laura that he wouldn't. prick. finally, he can just FUCK RIGHT OFF with his condescension about me being "so young." my thoughts may seem inconsequential to him, a single father of two trying to cope with a possible divorce. but they're MY thoughts, and thus, important to me.

laura won't let me send him all this in an email, because she cares about him, and wants to allow him to save face. (which he won't if i give him a dressing down.) so she's going to tell him that i know all the details of his visits to my diary, which will hopefully have the effect of scaring him off in the future. of course, if he DOESN'T stay away from my diary, then he'll read what i was thinking anyway, won't he? d--if you ARE reading this, it serves you right: you can live the rest of your life knowing FOR SURE that you are a man without a SHRED, a SLIVER, of honor.

[later] 'kay, so here's the note i finally did send, with laura's permission:

dyon,
i appreciate your acknowledgement you have in fact read my private diary, even after promising not to. thank you for agreeing not to go there anymore. i feel that my trust has been violated, though, and will continue to follow my logs very carefully.

> Regarding your diary: you are so young...

yes, i am young. however, i do not see what relevance that has.

<<< | >>>

fresh baked
increasingly stale
the quick & dirty

mail me
sign my guestbook!
leave me a note!
see my profile
diaryland



voyeurs since 8.8.2001

recently written! still tasty! now 50% off--get yours today!

28 March 2007 - due date
16 March 2007 - 14-38
16 March 2007 - 14-38
01 February 2007 - 32 weeks
06 December 2006 - 24 weeks

.rings.rings.rings.rings.rings.

gay? bi? human. - << - ?? - >>
academia - << - ?? - >>
pierced - << - ?? - >>
alice in wonderland - << - ?? - >>
red - << - ?? - >>