all mimsy were the

b o r o g o v e s

the status of things

the grant
i didn't get the grant. my advisor, j.t., thinks that the panel i was assigned to was (a) pissed off that i didn't cite their work, regardless of the fact that most of them are medical doctors in some neurology lab or something and (b) ignorant of the way psycholinguists operate: what kinds of studies they do, what kinds of statistical analyses they pre-plan, what kind of methods we use to recruit subjects, and who those subjects end up being. i'm going to resubmit for the 5 august deadline (sigh), but that's going to be work. work, i tell you.

the class
my class is having their midterm exam today. yippee! don't have to teach! there are a couple students who are going to do well. otherwise, i suspect that there is going to be much crashing and burning.

piggies
i'm going to adopt one (probably two) new guinea pigs. i hope they're babies. fergie needs a friend.

karl
all good. he's worried, though about the guinea pig thing. he says to me last night, what if, in a year or two, we move to england. what about the piggies? i say we'll take them. he asks about quarantine. i certainly don't know--what am i, the immigration department over here? anyway, i need to look that up. in other news, sunday night we were sitting on my roof, enjoying the evening and reading (well, i was reading), and karl was drawing something secret on my mini etch-a-sketch. he wouldn't let me look. i still haven't seen it, even though it's been sitting on top of the bookshelf. he made me promise not to look. me, who as a child, carefully unwrapped my christmas presents (well, the ones from mom anyway, because she used that medical tape with the perforations that is *so easy* to peel off without ripping the wrapping paper), looked, and re-wrapped them. i did this under the supervision of my then-babysitter, c*rolee (shout-out to car*lee!). anyway, he said if i looked, he'd read this diary. so i haven't looked. he says that sometime later in the week (he doesn't know when), i can look. i don't know any more than that, so stop asking.

research
don't ask.

finding funding
again with the not asking. maybe i'll drive septa (southeastern pa transit authority) buses. i hear they get paid bunches.

<<< | >>>

fresh baked
increasingly stale
the quick & dirty

mail me
sign my guestbook!
leave me a note!
see my profile
diaryland



voyeurs since 8.8.2001

recently written! still tasty! now 50% off--get yours today!

28 March 2007 - due date
16 March 2007 - 14-38
16 March 2007 - 14-38
01 February 2007 - 32 weeks
06 December 2006 - 24 weeks

.rings.rings.rings.rings.rings.

gay? bi? human. - << - ?? - >>
academia - << - ?? - >>
pierced - << - ?? - >>
alice in wonderland - << - ?? - >>
red - << - ?? - >>