all mimsy were the

b o r o g o v e s

theme days

today was $1 Bill Day in my station at the restaurant. everyone who paid in cash paid in all/mostly $1 bills. at the end of the day, my wallet wouldn't even close, even though i only had 7 tables today. that, my friend, is a lot of ones.

$1 Bill Day followed Compliment Borogoves Day, which was yesterday. this weekend was penn parents' weekend, which means that all the good little penn freshmen were eating brunch at the white dog, waiting for their parents to finally leave already so they could get back to the drinking. anyway, i had 4 verbal compliments on my service, one on my necklace, one on my choice of graduate programs, and one on my skin. yes, that's right, mister inappropriate penn dad actually told me i had very nice skin. i mean, i do have nice skin (not always the case, much to my 16-to-24-year-old self's chagrin), but i don't think that's the kind of thing you're supposed to say to your waitress at 11.30 on a sunday morning when your college-age son is sitting at the other end of the table looking miserable. though maybe his grey goose bloody mary was telling him it was okay. and hey, if you're going to buy a $9 drink, then by all means, compliment my skin.

other recent theme days at the white dog have included Old Alcoholic's Day (wherein the grey-haired types ordered lots of hot apple cider toddies, and life was good), Cappuccino Day (which unfortunately occurred on the same day as We're Out Of Dairy Products Day), and Sorority Girl Day (during which all my customers order side salads to split and glasses of water with lemon please).

<<< | >>>

fresh baked
increasingly stale
the quick & dirty

mail me
sign my guestbook!
leave me a note!
see my profile
diaryland



voyeurs since 8.8.2001

recently written! still tasty! now 50% off--get yours today!

28 March 2007 - due date
16 March 2007 - 14-38
16 March 2007 - 14-38
01 February 2007 - 32 weeks
06 December 2006 - 24 weeks

.rings.rings.rings.rings.rings.

gay? bi? human. - << - ?? - >>
academia - << - ?? - >>
pierced - << - ?? - >>
alice in wonderland - << - ?? - >>
red - << - ?? - >>