all mimsy were the

b o r o g o v e s

loretta

loretta is my halloween persona this year. i wasn't actually going to have cause to dress up this year, but then the white dog decided we should dress up if we were working on halloween. and i am. so i am.

dressing up as a working waiter is a bit of a problem: can't be too big (pillsbury dough boy) because i have to fit between tables. can't involve a mask (jason) because i have to be able to see. can't be too revealing ($50 ho) because we have to maintain some decorum. needs pockets or something for pen/cash/etc. storage.

so i came up with loretta, the divey diner waitress. spent yesterday thrift-storing. found a lovely polyester Pepto-pink dress with white cuffs on the sleeves and collar, and two breast pockets. only problem? some dumbass had cut off nearly all the skirt. so i went on down to fabric row, searched through all the sequins and leathers, and enlisted a flirty guy's help with matching my pink. at store 7, i found the right color. at home, i worked on sewing it onto the dress. i use the term sewing loosely, though, since i was really using my stapler. (i needed this).

just top myself off with some blue eyeshadow, and i'll be all set.

rock on wednesday

today is turning out to be a bright bright sunshiny day! even though i had to go to work. my opening sidework was cutting lemons (which i hate because i invariably have some sort of minor cut on a finger and the lemon juice is like a redhot spiky poker in my finger except more liquidy) but i only had to cut like 8 of them because there were so many left from last night! yay! then, i got sat at lovely regular intervals throughout the day and only had one customer who cried, and one table that left me $12 on a $35 check (whoohoo! 34% tip!). then, at the end of the day, jeff the bar and grill guy, who apparently only made $9 all day because he had no customers, had done my closing sidework because he was so bored. go jeff! then, when i got back to school, there was all kinds of good (i hope) mail. the NIH had sent me my priority score for my grant resubmission, and it's a 151. i think i've got a pretty good chance of getting funded! then i can quit that bastard of a restaurant! well, actually, i probably won't quit, but just do like 1 shift per week for some extra cash. cuz you know.

<<< | >>>

fresh baked
increasingly stale
the quick & dirty

mail me
sign my guestbook!
leave me a note!
see my profile
diaryland



voyeurs since 8.8.2001

recently written! still tasty! now 50% off--get yours today!

28 March 2007 - due date
16 March 2007 - 14-38
16 March 2007 - 14-38
01 February 2007 - 32 weeks
06 December 2006 - 24 weeks

.rings.rings.rings.rings.rings.

gay? bi? human. - << - ?? - >>
academia - << - ?? - >>
pierced - << - ?? - >>
alice in wonderland - << - ?? - >>
red - << - ?? - >>