all mimsy were the

b o r o g o v e s

"white bitch"

"white bitch"

yesterday jared and i went biking in the bee-you-tee-full spring weather (high of 85! low humidity! no bugs!). did 50 (count 'em!) miles. that's how far it is round-trip from my house to valley forge park. everyone and their grandmother was out on the path from philly to manayunk--good roller bladers (one guy even playing the violin while blading!), bad roller bladers, kid bikers, babies in strollers, crew teams with Very Long Boats... humanity. anyway, jared and i had a lovely ride.

by the time i got back to the city, and was riding the last few blocks home, i was ready to be done. layer of dirt on top of sweat on top of sunblock. yuck. i was riding west on walnut street (one way street, 3 lanes) through west philly, as far to the right as i could be without crashing into parked cars. a car behind me honked. i looked over my shoulder and glared at the driver. she honked again. i glared again. she honked a third time, and just *leaned* on her horn, no letting up. i gave her the finger, and slowed *way* down, looking back at her all the while. we were coming up on a red light, so i stopped, first in line in my lane. i turned around and yelled at her "share the road!" she yelled back "white bitch!" "fuck you! FUCK *YOU*!" i returned, and rode away with the green light. she made me so mad! she was *so* wrong! first, i was obeying all the traffic laws and *definitely* had a right to be on the road. second, what was with the racism thing?


i was supposed to meet laura at 'bucks to study, but after showering and having some lunch i *so* couldn't face the prospect of getting back on my bike to go home. so, i hooked myself up a studying place on my "deck." (really, it's the roof of the front porch, but my living room window overlooks it, so "deck" it is.) brought out a chair and a footstool, my laptop (the cord blessedly reaches in to a plug) complete with *hours* of mp3s (so *that's* why my hard drive is full...), and some dee-lish-ous iced coffee that i brewed myself. yum! sat out there from 4-10 pm, watching the world go by and reading the boland et al (1995) article on verb arguement structure and the constraint-based lexicalist view of sentence processing. ahhh....

<<< | >>>

fresh baked
increasingly stale
the quick & dirty

mail me
sign my guestbook!
leave me a note!
see my profile
diaryland



voyeurs since 8.8.2001

recently written! still tasty! now 50% off--get yours today!

28 March 2007 - due date
16 March 2007 - 14-38
16 March 2007 - 14-38
01 February 2007 - 32 weeks
06 December 2006 - 24 weeks

.rings.rings.rings.rings.rings.

gay? bi? human. - << - ?? - >>
academia - << - ?? - >>
pierced - << - ?? - >>
alice in wonderland - << - ?? - >>
red - << - ?? - >>