all mimsy were the

b o r o g o v e s

queens of death!

we're giving the puppy back on wednesday. she's gotten quite attached, i think, following us/me around the apartment. having her has reinforced both my love of dogs and my belief that i shouldn't have one until i have a yard.

i'm divided on the martha stewart verdict. on the one hand, she done wrong, and people who do wrong should get theirs. especially when those people are the super-wealthy who otherwise seem to be above the law. on the other hand, how come enron exec ken lay is still a free man? martha did a bad thing, but ken lay did a much worse thing, in terms of sheer deceipt, number of people affected, and amount of money involved.

queens of death!

there are several things about this case that i find noteworthy: 1. she is perhaps the least photogenic person on the planet. 2. she's 28? you're kidding, right? she's not, say, 40? 3. even though her reason, on the face of it (keep in mind that we don't know the whole story) is insane--she allegedly said she wouldn't have a C-section, even though her twins were in danger, because "she didn't want to be scarred, and that she would rather 'lose one of the babies than be cut like that,'" i don't think she should face murder charges. however, she might should* face some kind of charges because the surviving baby was found to have cocaine and alcohol in her system.

*"might should" and "might could" are two models that are ungrammatical in standard english (my dialect, supposedly) but grammatical in at least some dialects of appalacia. i picked them up from a friend in college, having judged them to fill a hole in my grammar for a modals that mean, respectively, "should probably" or "might be able to." they get comments from my standard english speaking colleagues, but to hell with them. i like me my non-standard idioms.

<<< | >>>

fresh baked
increasingly stale
the quick & dirty

mail me
sign my guestbook!
leave me a note!
see my profile
diaryland



voyeurs since 8.8.2001

recently written! still tasty! now 50% off--get yours today!

28 March 2007 - due date
16 March 2007 - 14-38
16 March 2007 - 14-38
01 February 2007 - 32 weeks
06 December 2006 - 24 weeks

.rings.rings.rings.rings.rings.

gay? bi? human. - << - ?? - >>
academia - << - ?? - >>
pierced - << - ?? - >>
alice in wonderland - << - ?? - >>
red - << - ?? - >>